Definition August 2024 - Web


SHORT TAKES 1. UK Indie Film Tax Credit becomes law The UK Independent Film Tax Credit moved onto the statute books just before parliament dissolved ahead of the general election. Part of the spring budget, the new incentive is a 53% expenditure credit that equates to a tax relief of approximately 40% for UK productions. 2. RTS Craft & Design Awards The RTS opened entries for its Craft & Design Awards 2024 until 6 September. Emma Gormley of ITV Studios is chair, overseeing 29 categories including the new multicamera work for sport class. The ceremony will be held on 2 December at London Hilton, Park Lane. 3. Emmy entries plummet The number of comedy and drama TV series eligible for an Emmy dropped nearly 40%, due to pandemic- related production slowdowns and last year’s strikes. This led to fewer nominees in most acting categories, with submissions in 13 categories down by 27%.

Tribeca Festival winners revealed T he 23rd annual Tribeca Festival, presented by OKX, has announced its winners at an awards ceremony held at Racket NYC. The prestigious Founders Award for best US narrative feature went to Griffin in Summer , directed by Nicholas Colia, which was recognised for its ‘precocious and unexpected storytelling’. The coming-of-age film also picked two additional awards: special jury mention for new narrative director for Nicholas Colia and best screenplay in a US narrative feature, which also went to Colia. Bikechess , directed by Assel Aushakimova, won best international narrative feature for its insightful portrayal of oppressed youth in Kazakhstan, while Hacking Hate took best documentary feature for its investigation into far-right social media influencers. Jasmine Bearkiller Shangreaux was honoured with best performance in a US narrative feature for her role in Jazzy . Nnamdi Asomugha was awarded best new narrative director for The Knife , praised for its gripping and thought- provoking narrative. The Viewpoints Award went to Come Closer by Tom Nesher, captivating the jury from its first frames. The Nora Ephron Award celebrated Don’t You Let Me Go by Ana Guevara and Leticia Jorge for its poignant exploration of love and friendship. The Human/ Nature Award was given to Dust to Dust from Japan. Ripe! was named best narrative short for its vivid depiction of a teen summer romance and Makayla’s Voice: A Letter to the World won best documentary short for showcasing an autistic girl’s hidden talent.

Sony Future Filmmaker Awards 2024 announces winners O n 30 May, the winners of the prestigious Sony Future Filmmaker Awards 2024 were announced at a glittering ceremony hosted at the Cary Grant Theatre at the Sony Pictures

alike with their distinctive storytelling, captivating cinematography and unique approaches to the art of filmmaking. This year’s winners are Katie Blair (USA, fiction), Olawunmi Hassan & Adaobi Samson (Nigeria, non-fiction), Solmund MacPherson (Canada, environment), Kyle Novak (Czech Republic, animation), Raheem Razak (South Africa, student) and Cristian Daniel (Uruguay, future format).

Studios in Culver City, California. Chosen from over 8,400 films – by more than 5,000 filmmakers across 148 countries and territories – the six winners impressed judges and audiences



Powered by